Nelson Cricket Association
Board & History

NCA Board of Directors



Andy has extensive business experience in Sales and General Management within large NZ Primary Industry Businesses over 35 years.

Andy has held Senior Management roles across the Timber and Forestry, Seafood, Meat and FMCG Industries, culminating in his role as GM for Affco NZ, one of NZ largest businesses.

Currently, as General Manager of Proper Crisps in Nelson, Andy has overseen the significant growth of this premium chip brand in both NZ and Australia since 2018.

Andy has been involved as a player, coach and administrator of cricket in Nelson for over 40 years. This includes the third highest all-time caps, and second highest all-time run maker for Wanderers Cricket Club, as well as long term periods as club captain and chairperson of the Club.

He has been a Nelson Cricket Board member since September 2020.

Nelson is home for Andy and his wife Patrizia, where exercising in the wonderful outdoor environment is a favourite pastime.



Honorary Vice Presidents

  • Gordon Davidson

  • Wayne Martin

  • Richard Hayward

  • Lee Smith

  • Craig Ingham

  • Ray Wilson

  • Vern Mardon

Honorary Life Members

  • Barry Blommaart

  • Richard Hayward

  • Gordan Davidson

  • Ian Hampton

  • Tony Pratt

  • Ian Leggat

  • Jeff Rackley

  • Kevin Leonard

  • Jock Sutherland


Nelson Marlborough Audit Ltd

Honorary Solicitor

Bruce Fraser


Nelson has a rich cricket history. Cricket was first reported as being played in Nelson in the Nelson Examiner in March 1844, in a match between the Surveyors of the Land Company and Nelson.

As a representative team Nelson played interprovincial cricket as early as 1862, later first playing first-class cricket in the 1873-74 season against Wellington, becoming the fifth team to play first-class cricket in New Zealand.

Nelson played 17 times in first-class cricket, winning nine and losing seven, and played their last first-class match in 1891.
In 1922 the Newman Shield was presented by Tom Newman of Newman Brothers for competition between Nelson City, Waimea, Tapawera, Midlands (Murchison), Motueka, Takaka, Marlborough Country and Marlborough Town.

Today Nelson competes in the Hawke Cup, which is a trophy competed for between the District Associations (DA’s) in New Zealand. Nelson is one of seven DA’s that feed in to the Central Districts Major Association (MA).

Nelson has a rich Hawke Cup history, winning the Cup several times, and holds the record for the longest period defending the title, a 28-match streak from December 1958 to February 1965.

Nelson’s 14-match Hawke Cup tenure from February 1979 to February 1983 represented another indelible chapter in local cricketing history.

In the 2018/19 season the Nelson Griffins successfully challenged Southland to once again bring the Trophy back to the top of the south. Congratulations to the coaches, management, team and everyone involved in such a big highlight for the Nelson Cricket Community.